Birkat HaMazon – Fourth Blessing


Birkat HaMazon has 3 main blessings.
There is a 4th blessing of thanks for G-d’s goodness, which seems to be of rabbinic origin.
What words mark the end of the 4th blessing?



  1. As you write the first three Blessings of Birkat haMazon are Torah obligations and the fourth Blessing is Rabbinic. The fourth Blessing begins with the words, “Baruch Atah Hashem Elokeinu Melech Haolam HaKel Avinu Malkeinu…” and it ends with the words, “Verachamim Vechaim Veshalom Vechol Tuv Umekol Tuv Leolam Al Yechasreinu.”

    Best wishes from the Team

  2. Thanks so much. The first three blessings all end with Baruch Atah Hashem plus some additional words.
    As an example, the first blessing ends with Baruch Atah Hashem Hazon Et HaKol.

    Therefore, I expected that the fourth blessing would also end with the words Baruch Atah Hashem
    followed by additional words. Why not?

  3. The Talmud, Trcatate Brachot, describes different kinds of Brachot. Those that begin and end with the words “Baruch Atah Hashem”. Those that begin with “Baruch Atah Hashem” but do not end with it. And those that do not begin with “Baruch Atah Hashem” but end with it.
    The Rabbis explain that other Brachot in Birkat Hamazon end with a brief blessing that start with the words “Baruch Atah Hashem” and then have a very brief summation of the theme of the Bracha. The fourth Bracha is different as does not end with the words “Baruch Atah Hashem” this is due to the fact that the whole Bracha can be summed up in two words “Hatov Vehameitiv”. Halachically that means that the fourth Bracha is no different from a regular short Bracha – even though it is actually much longer.

    Best wishes from the Team