Kashrut: “May Contain Traces of Milk”


Does food which “may contain traces of milk” considered milkhig?



  1. According to the OK, such products are not dairy. This is what they write on their site:
    A pareve product may say, “May contain traces of milk” on the label because some people are allergic to dairy on such a severe level that they will have a reaction from airborne particles of dairy being present during production. Airborne particles do not pose any kashrus issue, so this is merely an allergen warning.


    Best wishes from the AskTheRabbi.org Team