Seven Takkanot


Whar are the seven mitzvot enacted by the Sages?

16 years


  1. There are seven “Takanot” that were introduced by the Rabbis. They can be found at the end of the Sefer HaChinuch (attributed to Rabbi Aharon HaLevy). They are: 1. Lighting Channukah lights 2. Lighting Shabbat candles
    3. Reading the Megillah on Purim
    4. Washing hands before eating bread
    5. The various different Eiruvim (Combining Domains on Shabbat)
    6. Reciting Brachot, such as over food, smelling fragrances and going to the bathroom etc.
    7. Reciting Hallel

    Best wishes from the Team