Alcoholic Wine on Pesach


If leaven is not permitted on Pesach, why is alcoholic/fermented wine allowed?



  1. The yeast that is used for fermenting grape juice is not the yeast that the Torah forbids, but is like spores in the air or on the ground that catalyze a process of fermentation. It is not the same yeast that the Torah refers to for making dough rise, which is a type of sourdough from actual grain-dough. This is why there is no problem with drinking Kosher wine on Pesach.

    Best wishes from the Team